People in Population Sciences at Berkeley

High-calibre research is conducted on campus by established faculty researchers and postdoctoral scholars, supported by research programs within our Schools, Colleges, and Centers. Almost one hundred faculty and researchers from a range of academic disciplines are engaged in population research at UC Berkeley. Search researchers below by Center Affiliation, Research Theme, or Academic Department.

African American Studies
Ugo Nwokeji African American Studies
Keywords: migration, globalization, Caribbean
ugo@berkeley.edu
Agricultural & Resource Economics
Michael Anderson Agricultural & Resource Economics
Keywords: environmental economics, health economics, applied econometrics, transportation
mlanderson@berkeley.edu
J. Keith Gilless Agricultural & Resource Economics
Keywords: Economic analysis and operations research modeling techniques to address forest resource management issues, including market forecasting, resource-dependent local economies, the role of forestry in international development, protected area management
gilless@berkeley.edu
Ethan Ligon Agricultural & Resource Economics
Keywords: applied econometrics, development economics, household allocations
ligon@are.berkeley.edu
Jeremy Magruder Agricultural & Resource Economics
Keywords: unemployment, networks, HIV/AIDS
jmagruder@berkeley.edu
Berkeley Law
Jonathan Simon Berkeley Law
Keywords: sociology of law, mass incarceration
jsimon@law.berkeley.edu
City and Regional Planning
Jason Corburn City and Regional Planning
Keywords: environmental economics, health economics, climtae change
jcorburn@berkeley.edu
Demography
Magali Barbieri Demography
Keywords: mortality, formal demography
magali@demog.berkeley.edu
Carl Boe Demography
Keywords: mortality, formal demography, biodemography
boe@demog.berkeley.edu
Gretchen Donehower Demography
Keywords: microsimulation, intergenerational transfers, time-use
gretchen@demog.berkeley.edu
Dennis Feehan Demography
Keywords: sampling, mortality, migration, computational social science
feehan@berkeley.edu
Joshua Goldstein Demography
Keywords: fertility, population aging, social demography, formal demography
josh@demog.berkeley.edu
Eugene Hammel Demography
Keywords: statistical and formal analysis, stratification, historical demography, microsimulation, anthropological demography
gene@demog.berkeley.edu
Jennifer Johnson-Hanks Demography
Keywords: kinship, reproduction, social practice
Johnsonhanks@demog.berkeley.edu
Leora Lawton Demography
Keywords: family demography, intergenerational relationships, social networks
llawton@berkeley.edu
Ronald Lee Demography
Keywords: mathematical demography, intergenerational transfers
rlee@demog.berkeley.edu
Elizabeth Vasile Demography
Keywords: migrations, diasporas, mobilities
evasile@berkeley.edu
Kenneth W. Wachter Demography
Keywords: historical demography, mathematical demography
wachter@demog.berkeley.edu
Economics
Alan Auerbach Economics
Keywords: domestic and international tax policy; fiscal policy and demographic change; inequality and tax policy
auerbach@econ.berkeley.edu
David Card Economics
Keywords: economics, labor, welfare, affirmative action, minimum wages, race, uninsured, employment training
card@econ.berkeley.edu
Stefano DellaVigna Economics
Keywords: behavioral economics, experimental design
sdellavi@econ.berkeley.edu
Shachar Kariv Economics
Keywords: Social networks, social learning, personal and social preferences
kariv@econ.berkeley.edu
Ulrike M. Malmendier Economics
Keywords: Corporate Finance, Behavioral Finance, Behavioral Economics, Economics of Organizations, Contract Theory, Law & Finance, Economics Of Institutions, Economics And Psychology
ulrike@econ.berkeley.edu
Daniel McFadden Economics
Keywords: Economics of aging: savings behavior, demographic trends, housing mobility, dynamics of health and mortality; consumer demand analysis using psychometric data; simulation methods in econometrics
mcfadden@econ.berkeley.edu
Edward Miguel Economics
Keywords: African economic development, including work on the economic causes and consequences of violence; the impact of ethnic divisions on local collective action; and interactions between health, education, and productivity for the poor.
cega@berkeley.edu
Enrico Moretti Economics
Keywords: labor and urban economics, wage inequality, local labor markets, cities
moretti@berkeley.edu
Richard Sutch Economics
Keywords: Historical Perspectives on Economic Policy Issues, Economics and Demography of Aging, Immigration, Economics of Slavery and Reconstruction
richard.sutch@ucr.edu
Entomology
James Carey Entomology
Keywords: longevity, biodemography
jrcarey@ucdavis.edu
Robert Page Entomology repage@ucdavis.edu
Environmental Science Policy and Management
Wayne Getz Environmental Science Policy and Management
Keywords: population modeling epidemiology
wgetz@berkeley.edu
External Affiliates
Leontine Alkema External Affiliates
Keywords: Bayesian inference; Statistical demography, Family planning, Global health, child and maternal mortality, HIV/AIDS, Fertility, Population projections, Urbanization, Poverty measurement.
staal@nus.edu.sg
James Holland Jones External Affiliates
Keywords: Behavior, Social Structure, and Infectious Disease Transmission, Primate Biodemography, The Evolution of Human Life Histories, Demography of Violence, Environmental Change and Emerging Infectious Disease
jhj1@stanford.edu
Andrew Mason External Affiliates
Keywords: Population economics, macroeconomics, economic growth, intergenerational transfers
amason@hawaii.edu
Nadine Ouellette External Affiliates
Keywords: fertility, immigration, mortality
nadine.ouellette@ined.fr
Luis Rosero-Bixby External Affiliates
Keywords: longevity, fiscal impacts of aging, health in Latin America
lrosero@mac.com
David Steinsaltz External Affiliates
Keywords: Stochastic processes, biodemography, mathematical biology
steinsal@stats.ox.ac.uk
Shripad Tuljapurkar External Affiliates
Keywords: stochastic dynamics of populations, senescence, aging and fiscal balance
tulja@stanford.edu
John R. Wilmoth External Affiliates
Keywords: morbidity and mortality, life expectancy, life span, forecasting, comparative studies, parametric models
Emilio Zagheni External Affiliates
Keywords: Big data, migration, mathematical demography
emilioz@uw.edu
Haas School of Business
Paul Gertler Haas School of Business
Keywords: health economics, impact evaluation, development economics
gertler@haas.berkeley.edu
Ming Hsu Haas School of Business
Keywords: Cognitive Neuroscience, neural basis of economic and consumer decision-making
mhsu@haas.berkeley.edu
David Levine Haas School of Business
Keywords: Economic decision-making and environmentally safe and sustainable behaviors, such as adoption of cookstoves, safe water methods
levine@haas.berkeley.edu
Don Moore Haas School of Business dmoore@haas.berkeley.edu
Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory
Judith Campisi Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory Jcampisi@lbl.gov
Psychology
Richard Ivry Psychology ivry@berkeley.edu
Public Health
Barbara Abrams Public Health
Keywords: Weight and weight gain in women during pregnancy, postpartum and menopause, Maternal weight, nutrition, social factors and perinatal health outcomes, expressed and heat-treated breast milk and perinatal HIV transmission
babrams@berkeley.edu
Jennifer Ahern Public Health
Keywords: Social epidemiology, neighborhoods, substance use, risk factors
jahern@berkeley.edu
Martha Madison Campbell Public Health
Keywords: reproductive rights
campbell@berkeley.edu
Ralph Catalano Public Health
Keywords: economics, health care, jobs, labor, unemployment on health, mortality
rayc@berkeley.edu
Julianna Deardorff Public Health
Keywords: Pubertal development; Adolescent sexuality and reproductive health; Promotion of positive mental health among children and adolescents; Latina families and health behaviors; Stress and coping
jdeardorff@berkeley.edu
William Dow Public Health
Keywords: health economics, global health, economic demography
wdow@berkeley.edu
Brenda Eskenazi Public Health
Keywords: pesticides, health behavior, social support, agriculture, morbidity, farm
eskenazi@berkeley.edu
Lia Fernald Public Health
Keywords: poverty, obesity, child development, public health nutrition,Latino health, Mexican-Americans and other immigrant groups
fernald@berkeley.edu
Darlene Francis Public Health
Keywords: biological basis of health disparities, stress
darlenefrancis@berkeley.edu
Sylvia Guendelman Public Health
Keywords: reproductive health of immigrant women, women's health, access to health care for disadvantaged populations, including the working poor, health along the U.S.-Mexico border
sylviag@berkeley.edu
Denise Herd Public Health
Keywords: health disparities, images of alcohol, drugs, and violence in rap music, activism in African American communities, Drinking and drug use patterns and problems, social movements, multicultural health
tiara@berkeley.edu
Seth M. Holmes Public Health
Keywords: Immigration, health effects, medical anthropology, HIV
sethmholmes@berkeley.edu
Barbara Laraia Public Health
Keywords: Household food insecurity, Food and social environment, Health disparities, Perinatal Epi, Obesity, Diabetes, Dietary assessment methods
blaraia@berkeley.edu
Mahasin S. Mujahid Public Health
Keywords: Multi-level determinants of racial/ethnic health disparities, Neighborhood environments and cardiovascular health, Breast cancer treatment and survivorship, Methods in social epidemiology, Population health
mmujahid@berkeley.edu
Amani M. Nuru-Jeter Public Health
Keywords: Race and socioeconomic health disparities,Biobehavioral and psychobiological pathways for health disparities, Stress and coping, Mixed methods research (quantitative and qualitative)
anjeter@berkeley.edu
Emily Ozer Public Health
Keywords: School and community-based interventions, Promotion of mental and physical health among adolescents, Violence prevention, Trauma and Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
eozer@berkeley.edu
Nancy Padian Public Health
Keywords: Epidemiology and prevention of sexually transmitted infectionsincluding HIV, Reproductive health, Design of public health interventions, Impact evaluation
npadian@berkeley.edu
Malcolm Potts Public Health
Keywords: international family planning, Reducing barriers to contraception and safe abortion, Reducing maternal deaths, Biological origins of human warfare, AIDS prevention
potts@berkeley.edu
Ndola Prata Public Health
Keywords: Maternal mortality, Cost-effectiveness in family planning and abortion, Adolescent reproductive health services, Health care delivery systems, poverty and health
ndola@berkeley.edu
Lee Riley Public Health
Keywords: Field epidemiology, international health, slum health, Molecular epidemiology of tuberculosis
lwriley@berkeley.edu
William Satariano Public Health
Keywords: aging, built environment and health behaviors, cancer rehabilitation and survival
bills@berkeley.edu
Lonnie R. Snowden Public Health
Keywords: financing of health/mental health service systems,Access and effectiveness of care to minority and underserved populations
snowden@berkeley.edu
Dorothy Thornton Public Health dthornto@berkeley.edu
Public Policy
Daniel Acland Public Policy
Keywords: Benefit-Cost Analysis, Behavioral Economics, Behavior Change, Public Health
acland@berkeley.edu
Alex Gelber Public Policy
Keywords: Economic Policy, Public Finance, Tax Policy, Poverty & Inequality, Budget/Finance Social Security, Family Policy, Retirement decisions, retirement savings
agelber@berkeley.edu
Hilary Hoynes Public Policy
Keywords: Tax Policy, Labor and Employment, Poverty & Inequality, Children, Youth and Families, Government
hoynes@berkeley.edu
Rucker Johnson Public Policy
Keywords: health disparities, intergenerational mobility
ruckerj@berkeley.edu
Jane Mauldon Public Policy
Keywords: Demography, Children, Youth & Families, Program Evaluation, Race & Ethnicity, Quantitative Methods, Social Welfare, Health, Poverty
jmauldon@berkeley.edu
Steven Raphael Public Policy
Keywords: Labor & Employment, Criminal Justice, Quantitative Methods, Economic Policy, Housing & Urban Policy, Immigration, Poverty & Inequality, Employment Discrimination, Labor Economics, Racial Inequality, Urban Economics
stevenraphael@berkeley.edu
Jesse Rothstein Public Policy
Keywords: Tax Policy, Economic Policy, Education, Labor and Employment, Program Evaluation, Public Finance, Quantitative Methods
rothstein@berkeley.edu
Social Welfare
Anu Manchikanti Gomez Social Welfare
Keywords: Sexual and Reproductive Health, HIV Prevention, Gender Equit, Violence against Women, Transgender Health, Health Equity, Social Determinants of Health
anugomez@berkeley.edu
Sociology
Irene Bloemraad Sociology
Keywords: Immigration, political sociology, race & ethnicity, social movements, nationalism, research methods, Canada
bloemr@berkeley.edu
Claude Fischer Sociology
Keywords: Personal networks, social history, social psychology, urban, technology
fischer1@berkeley.edu
David Harding Sociology
Keywords: poverty, inequality, causal inference, mixed methods, incarceration and prisoner reentry, education, neighborhood effects, urban communities, adolescence
dharding@berkeley.edu
Heather Haveman Sociology
Keywords: Organizational theory, economic sociology, historical sociology, entrepreneurship, organizational demography, gender, careers and social mobility
hoynes@berkeley.edu
Mara Loveman Sociology
Keywords: Comparative and historical sociology, political sociology, ethnoracial politics, development, demography, Latin America
mloveman@berkeley.edu
Trond Petersen Sociology
Keywords: Organizations, social stratification, inequality, economic sociology, comparative studies, quantitative methods
trond@haas.berkeley.edu
Daniel Schneider Sociology
Keywords: Social Demography, Inequality, Family, Wealth and Household Finance
djschneider@berkeley.edu
Ann Swidler Sociology
Keywords: Culture, religion, theory, institutionalization, African responses to HIV/AIDS
swidler@berkeley.edu

Upcoming Events