People in Population Sciences at Berkeley

High-calibre research is conducted on campus by established faculty researchers and postdoctoral scholars, supported by research programs within our Schools, Colleges, and Centers. Almost one hundred faculty and researchers from a range of academic disciplines are engaged in population research at UC Berkeley. Search researchers below by Center Affiliation, Research Theme, or Academic Department.

Agricultural & Resource Economics
Michael Anderson Agricultural & Resource Economics
Keywords: environmental economics, health economics, applied econometrics, transportation
mlanderson@berkeley.edu
Ethan Ligon Agricultural & Resource Economics
Keywords: applied econometrics, development economics, household allocations
ligon@are.berkeley.edu
Demography
Magali Barbieri Demography
Keywords: mortality, formal demography
magali@demog.berkeley.edu
Carl Boe Demography
Keywords: mortality, formal demography, biodemography
boe@demog.berkeley.edu
Gretchen Donehower Demography
Keywords: microsimulation, intergenerational transfers, time-use
gretchen@demog.berkeley.edu
Ryan Edwards Demography
Keywords: economics of aging and health, macroeconomics, public finance, economic demography, national security, immigration
ryanedw@berkeley.edu
Dennis Feehan Demography
Keywords: sampling, mortality, migration, computational social science
feehan@berkeley.edu
Joshua Goldstein Demography
Keywords: fertility, population aging, social demography, formal demography
josh@demog.berkeley.edu
Eugene Hammel Demography
Keywords: statistical and formal analysis, stratification, historical demography, microsimulation, anthropological demography
gene@demog.berkeley.edu
Ronald Lee Demography
Keywords: mathematical demography, intergenerational transfers, economic demography
rlee@demog.berkeley.edu
Elizabeth Vasile Demography
Keywords: migrations, diasporas, mobilities
evasile@berkeley.edu
Kenneth W. Wachter Demography
Keywords: historical demography, mathematical demography
wachter@demog.berkeley.edu
Economics
Alan Auerbach Economics
Keywords: domestic and international tax policy; fiscal policy and demographic change; inequality and tax policy
auerbach@econ.berkeley.edu
David Card Economics
Keywords: economics, labor, welfare, affirmative action, minimum wages, race, uninsured, employment training
card@econ.berkeley.edu
Stefano DellaVigna Economics
Keywords: behavioral economics, experimental design
sdellavi@econ.berkeley.edu
Ben Handel Economics
Keywords: Health Insurance Markets, Decision-Making Under Uncertainty, Health Care Provision
handel@berkeley.edu
Shachar Kariv Economics
Keywords: Social networks, social learning, personal and social preferences
kariv@econ.berkeley.edu
Ulrike M. Malmendier Economics
Keywords: Corporate Finance, Behavioral Finance, Behavioral Economics, Economics of Organizations, Contract Theory, Law & Finance, Economics Of Institutions, Economics And Psychology
ulrike@econ.berkeley.edu
Daniel McFadden Economics
Keywords: Economics of aging: savings behavior, demographic trends, housing mobility, dynamics of health and mortality; consumer demand analysis using psychometric data; simulation methods in econometrics
mcfadden@econ.berkeley.edu
Edward Miguel Economics
Keywords: African economic development, including work on the economic causes and consequences of violence; the impact of ethnic divisions on local collective action; and interactions between health, education, and productivity for the poor.
cega@berkeley.edu
Enrico Moretti Economics
Keywords: labor and urban economics, wage inequality, local labor markets, cities
moretti@berkeley.edu
Richard Sutch Economics
Keywords: Historical Perspectives on Economic Policy Issues, Economics and Demography of Aging, Immigration, Economics of Slavery and Reconstruction
richard.sutch@ucr.edu
External Affiliates
Leontine Alkema External Affiliates
Keywords: Bayesian inference; Statistical demography, Family planning, Global health, child and maternal mortality, HIV/AIDS, Fertility, Population projections, Urbanization, Poverty measurement.
staal@nus.edu.sg
James Carey External Affiliates
Keywords: longevity, biodemography
jrcarey@ucdavis.edu
James Holland Jones External Affiliates
Keywords: Behavior, Social Structure, and Infectious Disease Transmission, Primate Biodemography, The Evolution of Human Life Histories, Demography of Violence, Environmental Change and Emerging Infectious Disease
jhj1@stanford.edu
Andrew Mason External Affiliates
Keywords: Population economics, macroeconomics, economic growth, intergenerational transfers
amason@hawaii.edu
Luis Rosero-Bixby External Affiliates
Keywords: longevity, fiscal impacts of aging, health in Latin America
lrosero@mac.com
David Steinsaltz External Affiliates
Keywords: Stochastic processes, biodemography, mathematical biology
steinsal@stats.ox.ac.uk
Shripad Tuljapurkar External Affiliates
Keywords: stochastic dynamics of populations, senescence, aging and fiscal balance
tulja@stanford.edu
John R. Wilmoth External Affiliates
Keywords: morbidity and mortality, life expectancy, life span, forecasting, comparative studies, parametric models
Emilio Zagheni External Affiliates
Keywords: Big data, migration, mathematical demography
emilioz@uw.edu
Haas School of Business
Paul Gertler Haas School of Business
Keywords: health economics, impact evaluation, development economics
gertler@haas.berkeley.edu
Ming Hsu Haas School of Business
Keywords: Cognitive Neuroscience, neural basis of economic and consumer decision-making
mhsu@haas.berkeley.edu
Jonathan Kolstad Haas School of Business
Keywords: health economics, applied microeconomics
jkolstad@berkeley.edu
David Levine Haas School of Business
Keywords: Economic decision-making and environmentally safe and sustainable behaviors, such as adoption of cookstoves, safe water methods
levine@haas.berkeley.edu
Don Moore Haas School of Business dmoore@haas.berkeley.edu
Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory
Judith Campisi Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory Jcampisi@lbl.gov
Psychology
Richard Ivry Psychology ivry@berkeley.edu
Public Health
William Dow Public Health
Keywords: health economics, global health, economic demography
wdow@berkeley.edu
Darlene Francis Public Health
Keywords: biological basis of health disparities, stress
darlenefrancis@berkeley.edu
Lee Riley Public Health
Keywords: Field epidemiology, international health, slum health, Molecular epidemiology of tuberculosis
lwriley@berkeley.edu
Public Policy
Daniel Acland Public Policy
Keywords: Benefit-Cost Analysis, Behavioral Economics, Behavior Change, Public Health
acland@berkeley.edu
Alex Gelber Public Policy
Keywords: Economic Policy, Public Finance, Tax Policy, Poverty & Inequality, Budget/Finance Social Security, Family Policy, Retirement decisions, retirement savings
agelber@berkeley.edu
Hilary Hoynes Public Policy
Keywords: Tax Policy, Labor and Employment, Poverty & Inequality, Children, Youth and Families, Government
hoynes@berkeley.edu
Rucker Johnson Public Policy
Keywords: health disparities, intergenerational mobility
ruckerj@berkeley.edu
Jane Mauldon Public Policy
Keywords: Demography, Children, Youth & Families, Program Evaluation, Race & Ethnicity, Quantitative Methods, Social Welfare, Health, Poverty
jmauldon@berkeley.edu
Sociology
Claude Fischer Sociology
Keywords: Personal networks, social history, social psychology, urban, technology
fischer1@berkeley.edu